The manual override function disconnects a position from the bot’s management.
Manual override enables you to take control of a position, which you must then manage in your broker platform. The Option Alpha platform will no longer communicate with the position.
If you manually override a position, the position will not count against position limits or capital allocation limits. You may need to re-consider your bot’s capital allocation limit if you manually override positions.
Any position opened in the platform can be overridden. This is a useful feature if you want to automate your trade entries but manually manage or close the position through your broker.
To override a position you closed manually, select the position in the Position Statement.
If you close a position in your brokerage account, you will need to disconnect it from the bot. The bots do not know a position has been closed unless it is closed inside the platform.
If you attempt to close a position that has already been closed manually, you will receive the following notification.
Remember, you don’t have to use the manual override feature. Any position opened through the Option Alpha platform can and will be managed by your bots’ monitor automations.
However, if you manually override an open position, the automations will no longer manage the position; you will need to close the position through your broker.
When removing a position from the bot with the “Manual Override” button you will receive a prompt (whether it is still open or has been closed manually).
Positions opened inside the autotrading platform still display the position’s details before the manual override, such as the entry order details. Any action taken after the position was released from the bot will not be visible.
Manual override allows you to remove a position from the bot and manage the position through your broker without closing the position in the bot.